Home Page New Data Chronology Cast Coins Struck Coins Paper Money Links/Reference

Coin in Commemoration of
Dr. Sun Yat Sen

Dr. Sun Yat Sen (originally named Sun Wen) was the great forerunner of the Chinese Democratic Revolution. He was well known as the Founding Father of the Republic of China by Chinese. Dr. Sun was born on Nov 12, 1866 in Hsiangshan county of Kwangtung Province and passed away of illness on Mar. 12, 1925 in Peking.
Dr. Sun received his early education in Honolulu (Hawaii), as he went to Honolulu with his mother to join his borther in 1879. Dr. Sun returned to China in 1884. He entered the College of Medicine for Chinese in Hong Kong in 1887, and he gradurated in 1892. He worked as a doctor in Maucau and Hong Kong. He found that the social and political situation of China had fallen into decay in the later 19th century. He suggested to Li Hung Chang of Qing government for political reformations in 1894, but Li refused his suggestions.
Later he engaged in revolutionary activities for national salvation in Canton. He founded the Hsing Chung Hui (Society for the Revival of China) in Honolulu in 1894. He was elected as president of Tung Meng Hui (Chinese Revolutionary League) in Tokyo in 1905. Though the League had organized many times of uprising in southern China, all uprisings failed. In 1911, Dr. Sun issued abroad the gold standard currency of the Republic of China to raise funds for the revolutionary activities in China.
Dr. Sun returned to China after the successful Wuchang Uprising in 1911. Dr. Sun was elected President of the Provisional Government on January 1, 1912 in Nanking and the Republic of China was established.

Marks of Rareness of the Collected Currencies
Extremely Rare A ~ Very Rare B ~ Rare C ~ Not So Many D ~ Common E

No. 201
22 mm
Wt. 5.3 g.
Mint Evolution & PeculiarityRareness D
This silver coin was minted by Fukien Mint in the 16th year of the Republic (1927) in order to commemorate Dr. Sun's deeds during the revolutional period. Same kinds of coin have the denominations of 2 Jiao (20 cents) and one Jiao (10 cents). The obverse of this coin bearing the portrait of Dr. Sun Yat Sen and 13 Chinese characters above meaning "The Republic of China", "Coin commemorative of the Premier" and "Minted in the 16th year". The characters are interspersed with floral stars. On the reverse are bearing with two crossed republican flags in the centre, and 2 Chinese characters above and 6 Chinese characters below denoting the denominations of 20 cents.

More about Fukien Copper Cash or More about Fukien Copper Coin and or

More about Fukien Silver coin


  1. A History of Chinese Currency (16th Century BC - 20th Century AD), 1983 Jointly Published by Xinhua (New China) Publishing House N.C.N. Limited M.A.O. Management Group Ltd. ISBN 962 7094 01 3
  2. Chester L. Krause and Clifford Mishler Colin R. Bruce II. : Standard catalog of World Coins 1991, 18th edition
  3. Dong Wenchao : 中國歷代金銀幣貨通覽 (An Overview of China's Gold & Silver Coins of Past Ages - The gold and silver coins and medals of modern China. p.850 ISBN 962-531-001-0)

Home Page New Data Chronology Cast Coins Struck Coins Paper Money Links/Reference
Any additional comment would be much appreciated, you can send it to Y.K.Leung.